Make Your Monday Rock!

Most people despise Mondays and I know this is certainly true for the clergy as well.  For ministers Mondays can be exceptionally difficult and lonely days in ministry.  The majority of pastors feel overwhelmed, under-appreciated and spiritually dizzy nearly every day of the week, but Mondays can for many be the climax of such feelings.  After a long day on Sunday the Devil loves to attack God’s faithful warriors on Monday.

Mondays for me however, are generally my best day of the week.  This has not always been the case but over time I have made certain changes that have helped me transform this once dreaded day into something I desperately long for.  These are the reasons why my Mondays rock.

  1. I decide to start my Monday with a bang and accomplish something right out of the gate.  Instead of rolling out of bed knowing I have 10,000 things to do on Monday I start by focusing on one thing that I can accomplish within the first few minutes of my day.  Generally this is reading an entire book of the Bible.  I will pick a short book, or maybe section of scripture like the beatitudes.  Doing this gives me a great sense of accomplishment to launch me into the day.  Sometimes on Monday I will change this up and go out and run 3-5 miles, or write several blog posts, or read a large portion of a book.  The main thing is that you do something and finish it before you ever head into the office.
  2.  On my way to work (10 Minute Drive) I call another minister and attempt to encourage him.  They in turn always encourage me as well.  These conversations are beneficial for both of us and help us both get the day off to a good start.  I don’t call the same person each week, and I keep calling until I reach someone even if it means sitting in the parking lot for a few minutes before heading into the office.
  3. After getting into the office and greeting the staff I get back into the word of God.  Monday morning is when I do the majority of my deep study for the following Sunday.  I generally don’t put the sermon together on paper during this time but I dive in deep reading commentaries, studying the Greek or Hebrew, or just pondering whatever truth I plan to share next weekend.
  4. I always have lunch plans on Monday with someone that will fill me up.  Don’t eat lunch with the crabby deacon on Monday, eat with a friend, your spouse, or join your child for lunch at their school. It’s a great thing.
  5. After lunch it’s time to pray and get back in the word.  At our church we have discipleship classes on Monday nights, so I spend all afternoon studying God’s word in preparation for the lesson that night.
  6. Finally I end my workday by spending time with 5-15 other believers who are in my small group discipleship class. We spend at least an entire year together on Monday nights and these are some of my most treasured times with other believers. I really can’t think of a better way to end my Monday!

Another thing that makes my Mondays great are the people at our church.  Every Monday I receive numerous encouraging emails and facebook messages from those in our congregation that were touched, inspired, or encouraged in some way on Sunday.  There are several very special people in our church that make it a point to send me an encouraging word every Sunday evening or Monday morning, these messages make my Monday rock!  There are generally a few negative emails as well, but I flag them to be dealt with on another day.  For me Monday is not the day to tackle negativity, personally I handle things like that much better on Tuesday after I have gotten my week off on the right track.

I realize not all of you are ministers and spending the majority of your Monday praying and reading the Bible is likely not an option.  However, you can still implement the other things mentioned in this post.  Find other believers where you work to meet with for a few minutes before or after work each Monday to pray and read scripture together. Call another believer on the way to work and encourage them.  Wake up and do something meaningful before you do anything else on Monday and you will find that it makes a big difference in your life.  Make your Mondays matter. You are only going to get so many of them so do whatever you need to do in order to make them rock!

About Pastor Pete

Pete is the senior Pastor of Cowboy Fellowship in Pleasanton Texas. He is also the author of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, The Living Lamp, and a co-author of The Modern Day Disciple Bible Study series.
This entry was posted in Bible, My Thoughts, Pastor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make Your Monday Rock!

  1. Royce Hart says:

    Encouraging feedback is always a great way to start the day. I remember doing some contract work for Texas WIC. There was a feedback form on the website that I’d built for them, and it received hundreds of great responses. Every day, I’d spend the first 15 minutes of my workday reviewing the good feedback and lining up any negative feedback for response later in the day. It made a huge difference in my outlook all day long.

  2. Carolyn Osborn says:

    Enjoyed your blog ~ and loved hearing how you handle Mondays. This was the first night that I missed Discipleship 101. I was just not feeling my best and just had to unwind and try to feel better. i will be completing ACTS tomorrow. I’ve been reading several translations. I’m so glad I took your challenge to read Acts the month of February. We appreciate you so much, Take time for you and your family. I love the family photo that you recently posted on fb. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

