His Workmanship (Day 39 Ephesians 2:10 NET)

             For we are his workmanship, having been created in Christ Jesus for good works that God prepared beforehand so we may do them.     
Ephesians 2:10 NET

I love reading things that F.B. Myer wrote.  Below are some of his comments on Ephesians 2:10 they really blessed my heart this morning I pray they bless yours as well.


The Greek word might be literally rendered His poem. As the metre varies in the poems of a laureate, so does the course of one life differ from another; but God has a thought, a plan, a purpose for each. This lyric, that heroic, another dramatic.

Created for good works. — How carefully the apostle defines the true position of works in the divine life. In the foregoing verses he insists that we are not saved by our works, that none should boast; but, as though to meet the objection that his system was inconsistent with holy living, he affirms that the whole intention of God was that we should manifest our new life in Christ by the holy life in which it fruits. We were created in Him unto good works. Whatever good works may be demanded of you, dare to believe that you were created in Christ Jesus to do them. There is a perfect adjustment between the two.

The good works prepared. — Our new creation in Christ Jesus and the preparation of our lifework are due to the same mind. God who made us has prepared our path for us. It may lie up hill or down dale; may be lined with grassy sward or be full of jagged stones; may be short with the years of childhood or long with those of old age; may consist in lying on a couch to suffer or in strenuous activity — but every yard has been prepared.

Our daily walk. — We have not to cut or make our path but simply to follow it, one step at a time. And when the heart or flesh fails, when the way seems too difficult, or the door too strait — we must look always unto Jesus, who has gone along the same track, asking that His righteousness may go before us, and set us in the way of His steps (Psa 85:13).[1]


[1]F. B. Meyer, Our Daily Homily, Accordance electronic ed. (Altamonte Springs: OakTree Software, 2008), n.p.

About Pastor Pete

Pete is the senior Pastor of Cowboy Fellowship in Pleasanton Texas. He is also the author of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, The Living Lamp, and a co-author of The Modern Day Disciple Bible Study series.
This entry was posted in 40 days of new Testment, Bible, Bible Daily Reading plan, Devotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to His Workmanship (Day 39 Ephesians 2:10 NET)

  1. evaasbury says:

    Yes, right now my mom is having some difficuties and it is hard to see a loved one getting old and not functioning like they use to. But just to know I can look up and know that my Lord is holding on to her and giving her strength. Today she was told she could not drive any more because of some things that are happening to her. For her it is going to be rough, for us it is safety for her and others. So I know that I can ask my Lord just to be with her and help her to come through these times and test she is having to take. I know her will give me and my family comfort during this time. For this time I have been giving my all to help with doctor appointments and I know that God has a purpose in it for my work to be from him to help take care of my mom. Thank You Lord for this purpose you have for me.

    • Karen Hart says:

      Many years ago I took care of my mom and later my dad. It was very frustrating for them to need help after taking care of themselves all their lives. The road got rough for me, because at that time in my life I was trying to do it on my own, instead of letting God hold my hand.

      I know your mom feels blessed to have you, but that’s sometimes hard for them to say.

      I’ll be praying for your mom, you and your husband.

    • RoyceHart says:

      There is most definitely purpose in what you are doing for your Mom. Let me assure you that the blessings reach farther than you may realize.

      Growing up watching my Mom and Dad take care of their parents – particularly all the time they spent caring for my Mom’s Dad – taught me a lot about love.

      I saw my Dad sit quietly with his father-in-law, listening for many hours after the workday was done. I never saw a trace of impatience or hurry. My Dad loved and honored my Grandpa in a very special way, allowing him to reminisce and share things that made him feel at home, made him feel important and loved.

      I saw my Mom dote over her Daddy, making sure he got the things he needed. She saw to it that he got to his doctor’s appointments, ate well, and was comfortable. Once in awhile, he’d quietly comment about how he noticed that the wildflowers were blooming, or how he’d noticed some new thing happening in town; he never had to ask. She’d offer to take him to see those flowers or that new something-or-other, and away they’d go. Again, she demonstrated love and honor, anticipating a need and meeting it before her Daddy had to ask.

      My Mom and Dad took care of my Grandpa for the rest of his life. It was a huge blessing to my Grandpa – and to me.

      Then the days came that my Dad fell ill. Anything my Dad needed or wanted, any comfort, anything to make his life better, my Mom gave her all to provide. The years of hospital visits. The surgeries. The pain, sadness and fear of wondering how he would go on, what he could or could no longer do. My Mom was completely selfless, and she never, ever quit. Love never, ever quits.

Leave a Reply

