Spiritual Gifts (Day 36 1Corinthians 12:1 NET)

“With regard to spiritual gifts, brothers and sisters, I do not want you to be uninformed.” (1Corinthians 12:1 NET)

Paul said to the church in Corinth, “With regard to spiritual gifts, brothers and sisters, I do not want you to be uninformed.”  I suspect that if he were writing to us today a similar statement would be in order as well.  The fact is most stay totally away from the subject of spiritual gifts because they are confusing and a source of heated and frequently hurtful debate.  As a result many people are indeed uninformed when it comes to the subject of spiritual gifts.  The book of Revelation is surrounded by a very similar problem, it is hard to comprehend and multiple views only inflame the arguments so we avoid the subject all together.  Each time I teach The Absolute Basics of Christianity I am stunned, when we arrive at week seven, by the number of Christians who actually have any real handle on the subject of spiritual gifts.  While the four short lessons in this book can hardly be considered an adequate education on the topic, most students learn more about spiritual gifts in those four days than they have in their entire walk with Christ. Simply because the church as a whole is uninformed about spiritual gifts.  My goal in this post is not to explain or tackle spiritual gifts but rather to urge you to consider what Paul has to say in 1 Corinthians 12 and other places on the topic.  Order a copy of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, or another study to learn more about the subject of gifts.  Don’t ignore things you can’t comprehend, and don’t neglect such an important part of your spiritual life simply because it is difficult to understand or makes you uncomfortable. I would only echo the words of Paul and say, “With regard to spiritual gifts, brothers and sisters, I do not want you to be uninformed.”  The church is stronger, families are stronger, and the effects of the gospel of Christ are more evident when believers understand and utilize the spiritual gifts that have been given by God to them for the purpose of blessing His church and His kingdom. Take time to become informed if you are not already!

About Pastor Pete

Pete is the senior Pastor of Cowboy Fellowship in Pleasanton Texas. He is also the author of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, The Living Lamp, and a co-author of The Modern Day Disciple Bible Study series.
This entry was posted in 40 days of new Testment, Bible, Bible Blog, Church, Church life, Devotion, Spiritual Gifts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spiritual Gifts (Day 36 1Corinthians 12:1 NET)

  1. Royce Hart says:

    Hi Pastor – I’m glad you’re not afraid to dig into spiritual giftings. I think some folks regard spiritual giftings as “hocus pocus” because of their strange nature (speaking in tongues, interpretation of tongues, prophecy, etc.). I know those examples just scratch the surface of the gamut of giftings, but they are just as valid as administration or preaching, and God granted then all.

    • Pastor Pete says:

      Thanks Royce I have to admit there are still many things that I don’t understand about our gifts despite digging into the subject a good bit. I learned a lot about gifts from my Pastor Glen Howe back in college. He preached a series of sermons on the subject over the course of a few months at our church in Martindale. I took those sermon notes and studied the scriptures again to write the section on Spiritual Gifts in The Absolute Basics of Christianity. I think the main thing is that we all have a desire to learn about such things rather than just passing them by and never digging in. I love all your comments they motivate me, thanks for following the blog.

      • Royce Hart says:

        Thanks for your response. I get pretty excited about the spiritual gifts because I’ve benefitted from them. I was delivered from depression by a pastor with the gift of healing.

        I think the primary reason spiritual gifts aren’t fully manifested is a lack of belief. If Jesus couldn’t get past the unbelief of His townspeople, it stands to reason that a lack of faith would pose the same problems today. 

        I’m honored that I can offer some encouragement.  You’re a great writer. I suspect a lot of folks are reading, but they’re having trouble finding their writing voice. I figure for every response you get, there’s at least 20 other folks out there that want to say something, but either haven’t got enough time or have trouble getting their thoughts into words. 

  2. evaasbury says:

    We do need to seek these gifts, they are an important part of our walk with the Lord.

    • Pastor Pete says:

      I wonder many times why we don’t run harder after understanding in areas like this. We are going to increase our teaching on these kinds of things at Cowboy Fellowship in 2012!

Leave a Reply

