Who can withstand the Spirit?

 But they could not withstand the wisdom and the Spirit with which he was speaking.
Acts 6:10 ESV

What a picture this simple verse paints.  The enemies of the cross and young Christian faith could not withstand the wisdom and Spirit.  These were the best trained debaters the haters had to offer.  They were educated, informed, equipped, and full of zeal, yet when it came right down to it, all of those things were useless against the Spirit.  It was not the skill of Stephen, or the words he chose to use, it was the power of the Holy Spirit at work that won the day.  I don’t know about you but I frequently feel unprepared, ill equipped, out numbered, and weak when it comes to facing the difficult people of our day.  We must always remember however that it is not us but the power of God at work that changes lives.  No one can withstand the wisdom and the Spirit of God.  Therefore it is essential that I work on the condition of my soul rather than the scope of my vocabulary.  When I count on myself I am likely to fail, however when I exclude myself from the process and make my life available to Christ as Stephen did, I am certain to succeed and you are too!

About Pastor Pete

Pete is the senior Pastor of Cowboy Fellowship in Pleasanton Texas. He is also the author of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, The Living Lamp, and a co-author of The Modern Day Disciple Bible Study series.
This entry was posted in 40 days of new Testment, Bible, Devotion, My Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who can withstand the Spirit?

  1. evaasbury says:

    I too know that in myself I cannot say things the right way, but when I allow the holy spirit take control all the right words come out. And you know It’s the spirit because I get this exciting feeling within.

  2. Royce Hart says:

    Hi Pastor – I read this and remembered the times I’ve tried to handle situations when nonbelievers were questioning my beliefs. Usually, these folks were armed with enough information and debating skills to make any reasonable argument a tough go. These were discussions I might have done well to avoid altogether.

    I asked a preacher about this situation, and I will never forget his answer: don’t engage in arguments about doctrine or theology, but stand on your personal life experiences with Jesus. No one can argue against your personal experiences, because they’re yours. With that, he added that folks are much more impacted by testimony than by a reasoned argument, no matter how well-spoken.

Leave a Reply

