Nothing at all? (Day 24 John 18:20 NET)

 I have said nothing in secret.  John 18:20 NET

Have you ever noticed this profound statement in John 18:20?  Have you ever seriously considered it?  As I was going through the reading today this short passage just jumped off the page at me.  I could not help but stop and consider what a powerful statement this is.  Imagine being able to say that you had never whispered anything in secret.  That all your words and ways had been so pure and so right there was nothing at all to hide. 1 John 2:5–6 NET says  5 But whoever obeys his word, truly in this person the love of God has been perfected. By this we know that we are in him. 6 The one who says he resides in God ought himself to walk just as Jesus walked. To walk as Jesus walked means, in part, living in such a way that nothing has to be hidden in shadows or whispered in secret.  As I ponder the possibility of such a life I am naturally drawn to the seeming impossibility of this desire.  Yet at the same time, my soul leaps with expectation and excitement at the thought of not having anything to hide.  Like most, I harbor no great secret or unconfessed dreaded sin in my life.  However, I would be lying if I said I never said things secretly in hopes that no one else will find out or hear of my conversation. In these moments of weakness, I forget that God does indeed hear everything that I say, and that I have been encouraged  to guard my words and speak as a person who is speaking for God each time I open my mouth (1 Peter 4:11 NET).  The challenge for me today is to live my life in a way that is worthy of my calling and to be like Jesus in every way.  That includes living so well that I have nothing to hide.  I really believe we can do this with God’s help and a little bit of discipline in our lives. What do you think?

About Pastor Pete

Pete is the senior Pastor of Cowboy Fellowship in Pleasanton Texas. He is also the author of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, The Living Lamp, and a co-author of The Modern Day Disciple Bible Study series.
This entry was posted in 40 days of new Testment, Bible, Bible Daily Reading plan, Devotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nothing at all? (Day 24 John 18:20 NET)

  1. evaasbury says:

    I believe that when we really want to live for Him and read his word everyday that we can with the help of the Holy Spirit to not have anything to hide, because he does know everything we think and say.

  2. Royce Hart says:

    I think that if everyone took this command seriously, it would eliminate >95% email, text messaging, cell phone conversations and idle chatter.

Leave a Reply

