Safe with no escape (Day 20 John 6:68-69)

 68 Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom would we go? You have the words of eternal life. 69 We have come to believe and to know that you are the Holy One of God!”  (John 6:68–69 NET)

Like most Americans I have grown accustom to having choices and options in life.  When I pump my gas I have multiple options to chose from.  When I dine out there are ample choices in both restaurant selection and inside the menu. When I shop there are aisles of the most basic products like shampoo, soap, bread, milk, and laundry detergent.  Recently my wife and I decided to look into buying a new mattress.  When we arrived at the mattress store I was overwhelmed with the selection.  Because I have grown so accustom to having options I am always tempted to be self reliant which causes separation between Christ and myself.  I want options in life and I always want to have a plan B, C, D, and if possible E.  I really admire the words of Peter in the text above.  Jesus has just seen a large portion of his followers walk away after proclaiming a hard teaching.  He then asks the Disciples, “Are you going to leave too?”  To which Peter says, “Where would we go?”  In other words we have no plan B, there is no other option for us, we have put all of our eggs in one basket here.  Those who departed the presence of Christ after receiving this difficult teaching differed greatly from the twelve.  They still had options.  Jobs, family, and homes were waiting for them so leaving was an option.  But the twelve had left everything behind to follow Christ.  They literally dropped their nets, walked away from the tax booth, and left their families behind for Christ.  Christ was their only option so they stuck it out!  Even though they had no escape they were still safe, after all is there any safer place than with Jesus? We should make it our aim to forsake everything but Christ, otherwise it is far to easy to walk away when the road gets narrow and rough.

Take time right now to pray and ask God to help you sell out and follow him to the place where you have no other option in life.  Even though there is no escape I promise it is a wonderful place to be.

About Pastor Pete

Pete is the senior Pastor of Cowboy Fellowship in Pleasanton Texas. He is also the author of The Absolute Basics of Christianity, The Living Lamp, and a co-author of The Modern Day Disciple Bible Study series.
This entry was posted in 40 days of new Testment, Bible, Devotion, God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Safe with no escape (Day 20 John 6:68-69)

  1. evaasbury says:

    So many options, and during the holidays it seems even harder for all of these. The hussel and bussel of getting to give, whom to get what, where to get the best price. Sometimes just doing these things and not bringing in our Savior to help us with our decisions. So like these whom left their families to follow Christ is something even during the holidays we can also do by getting alone with him in a place to just praise him and thank him for what he has done.

  2. Royce Hart says:

    Hi Pastor – when I hear about “selling out” to Jesus, I’m at a loss. Academically, I know it’s all His. But it’s terrifying to walk it out. I want to know that I’m not going to lack, or live from paycheck to paycheck in fear of it all being torn away. 

    I see plenty of saintly, dead-to-self people who live hand-to-mouth, giving their all in service, but living in constant need. They’re joyful and fulfilled, but they’re broke! Without the kindness of others, they’d be sunk. 

    On the other hand, some folks seem to do and get whatever they want. Exotic vacations, every month … shopping sprees that could outfit a third world nation… diamonds worth more than my truck. I’m not saying they’re ungrateful – they’re quick to give God all the glory. And they’re generous and kind; however, they lack for nothing, crave more, and don’t mind saying so. 

    In short, the promise of “seeking first the Kingdom of God” isn’t lining up with what I’m seeing, at least not with any discernible consistency. Is it wrong of me to notice? Is it foolish for me to ask why?

    • Pastor Pete says:

      Royce I don’t think it is wrong or foolish asking why is how we learn even in our faith. To a few of your points I would first say that following Christ is a great joy despite the kind of wealth or things you have. If you had a choice would you have rather been Peter, or the rich young ruler? Honesty may encourage you to say the rich young ruler, but deep down you know that living with Christ as Peter did was far more fulfilling both here on earth and in eternity. I cam to a realization years ago that really helped me. Everything I have here on earth will one day end up in a landfill. All I have spiritually will last forever so which is more valuable? This is not to say Christians can’t have nice things or live well but when we desire those things over our faith we make a great mistake. I am sure if you continue to pray about these things and allow God to lead you He will help you discover the answers you seek. I hope my short comments help some.

      • Royce Hart says:

        Hi Pastor – Thanks for writing back about this, I appreciate it. I will keep asking God to help me see things for what they are. 

        I have known folks on “both sides of the tracks” – some have nothing, some a little, and others that have it all, so to speak. 

        I’ve also known a few who had much in this world, but lost it all; they’re the quickest to say that material wealth does not bring happiness or peace. 

        You’d think that’d be good enough for me, hearing it confessed by a person who’s been-there, done-that. But I still covet things, even with all the priceless blessings I’ve been given. So I’m going to give this to Him and see what’s next. 

Leave a Reply

